need suggestions on substrate! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-27-2008, 08:37 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
need suggestions on substrate!

hi, I recently set up a 180g tank but being a total newb and not knowing I need a specific kind of gravel for a planted tank that I want to have a carpet of HC, I got some regular gravel (big/thick grains, the popular light/dark brown stuff at petsmart), but now I realize I need smaller size substrate to grow any kind of carpet so I am wondering what are my choices here? I have heard using 'Seachem Flourite' is good for growing HC and hair grass, and 'Caribsea Eco-Complete' is another one I have been looking at but I dont like the color of black for substrate! what do you guys think I should use? will seachem flourite do the trick?

and btw can I put these on top of my gravel? I figure since I really only need these to help with growing the HC/Harigrass and the other plants are pretty hardy and doing fine right now I can get away with just putting 2" of one of these on top of my current gravel and than planting the HC/Hairgrass?

any help appreciated
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-27-2008, 05:33 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (8/100%)
After a while, the smaller grains will sink to the bottom of the substrate, so the gravel will end up on top no matter what. Pea gravel is a cheap alternative to aquarium gravel (make sure to rinse well like regular gravel). Flourite and Eco-complete are both very good planted substrates.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-27-2008, 05:39 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (266/100%)
What's your budget?

The best substrate I've used so far is ADA AquaSoil, but to buy enough for a 180g tank...is well, a feat in itself.

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-27-2008, 07:05 PM
Anti iwagumi

PTrader: (113/99%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by epicfish View Post
but to buy enough for a 180g tank...is well, a feat in itself.
LOL.