I need tips on vacuuming sandy substrate. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-14-2008, 10:41 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
I need tips on vacuuming sandy substrate.

I'm new to plants, and aquariums in general. How do you guys vacuum sandy substrate without disturbing your plants?

I've been lightly hovering my vacuum over the sandy parts (50/50 mix of sand and fluorite), trying not to uproot anything by stirring everything up. But its not working out well. We've been battling pea soup water for 2-3 weeks now, and thought it would be best to take our the plants for a bit, and do a violent (for lack of a better word) substrate vacuuming. Wow, what a difference. The water in the bucket was black/gray, and not florescent green now! Yuck!

So, how can I do a better job vacuuming, without upsetting my plants, or getting the siphon clogged up every 3 minutes? Am I being too cautious? (I also have a few fish, if that makes a difference)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-14-2008, 11:51 PM
Algae Grower

Im not sue how big of volume area you need to vacume or how much junk but in the tight places a turkey baster works. Not the fastest way or method but you can controll how much you suck. lol sorry the last line sounded kinda funny after i read it. If you happen to learn a better faster way let me know! Goodluck.

"If you see me and a moutain lion in a fight don't help me,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
the moutain lion."
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-15-2008, 03:28 AM

PTrader: (1/100%)
Dont know if this is what your looking for, but a valve on the vacuum hose to control flow rate might help...... or any type of restriction for that matter.

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-15-2008, 05:53 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plastic Plant Botanist View Post