Adding Flourite to an Established Tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-09-2008, 08:30 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Adding Flourite to an Established Tank

I have a fairly new, work-in progress 29 gallon tank with 2.8 wpg and plain gravel substrate and somehow without co2 my plants seemed to be growing well. I recently noticed some brown spots in some of my newer plants and was wondering if dosing iron or overhauling my substrate with flourite would be better. Even though this problem is most likely caused by co2, I was just looking for some general advice outside of that area.

If I dose iron will the substrate hold some of this nutrients and/or will it be distributed to (root-feeding) plants that seem to be having the problems?

If I do add flourite, how should I go about changing the substrate.

Thanks and sorry, I'm new to all of this.

Unfortunately, I don't know the names of the plants.

Here are some photos (I apologize for the quality):

The large plant to the left with the broad leaves and the mini-crypts??? are the plants that seem to be having issues. They are growing new leaves and flourishing but have brown spots and occasionally melting leaves.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-10-2008, 12:00 AM
Fresh Fish Freak

PTrader: (70/100%)
If it's just your crypts melting I wouldn't worry about it- crypt melt is pretty par for the course until the crypts get acclimated to your new tank.

Personally I'd still switch to fluorite 1) because it will contain and hold nutrients but your current gravel will not at all 2) because I like the looks better

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Next meeting Monday, Oct 13, 2014 @ 7:15pm- See ya there!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.