Adding sand post-fish??? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-06-2008, 05:02 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (8/100%)
Adding sand post-fish???

Hey everyone,

I'm a total newbie, so my apologies if this is a "dumb" question.

I have a 29 gallon partially planted tank with some fish. My substrate is Eco-complete under Estee's gravel, but I need to replace the gravel with sand in order to plant HC.

My problem is that I don't know what sand to use. I will be adding the sand without a water change because the tank is only 2 weeks old and needs to cycle. I am concerned about the effects that sand may have on my fish and plants. I am debating between the following sands:

- pool sand with flourish tabs
- flourite black sand

What do you guys think?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-06-2008, 06:07 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (2/100%)
i bought the roofing sand at home deopt get the 30 gritt it is only about 7 bucks for a 100 pound bag just wash it out in a bucket the tank might get cloudy but it will clear up in a couple of days.and it is so muck easier planting stuff like small plants like hc and it is a lot better for root systems i can post a pic of my 60 gal with the sand if you would like? and your fish and plants will be fine
post #3 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-06-2008, 06:36 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

If you could post a picture, it would be great! Thanks!

post #4 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-06-2008, 07:17 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (2/100%)
here are the pics of my sand

that is my flour leaf clover shamrock taking off

Last edited by i love planted tanks; 07-21-2008 at 11:09 AM.
post #5 of 22 (permalink) Old 07-06-2008, 09:25 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (70/100%)
Send a message via AIM to waterfaller1