Something under substrate - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-09-2008, 01:20 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Something under substrate

Ok I am new to this so bare with me.....

I just wanted some opinions on if it is better to use something under the substrate such at a layer of peat, or is it just as good to use straight substrate. I am going to be using Flourite, but am also shooting for a low tech tank, so I want to give the plants the best base possible. I know that the Flourite says it can be used alone, or mixed with gravel, just don't know if I should start out with a layer of peat, Laterite, or something like Flora Root Enricher.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-09-2008, 01:34 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (158/99%)
i personally would just go with the flourite unless there is something your trying to do.....

when they say mix meaning you can mix 50% flourite and 50% something and still get the kind of effect.....
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-09-2008, 01:40 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgamer20o0 View Post
i personally would just go with the flourite unless there is something your trying to do.....

when they say mix meaning you can mix 50% flourite and 50% something and still get the kind of effect.....
I know that mixing the Flourite with gravel is just for looks, and you accomplish the same thing, I just was wondering if it was that much better to have a layer of peat or laterite under the Flourite, or is it just as good to use straight Flourite.

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-09-2008, 02:50 AM
Fresh Fish Freak

PTrader: (70/100%)
Using a fine dusting of peat under the substrate will slightly lower the pH over time, which is beneficial for most plants. Also the peat contains vitamins/nutrients.