replacing substrate soon- advice much appreciated - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-28-2014, 06:17 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
replacing substrate soon- advice much appreciated

I plan on completely removing the sand/Flourite/gravel mess of a substrate in my planted tank -29g- and replacing it with dirt and Oil-Dri as a cap (at least this is my intent ). Please be kind as I am not good with rhetoric.

Never swapped out a substrate before and I want away from sand. I am not a fan of sand anymore. I'm going to dump that mess in the woods as soon as it's out of my 29g and let the outdoor kitties use it for a potty spot. I just don't like it anymore- had it in there for about 3 years.

Right now,I have about 80% of the 25lb bag of Oil-Dri in 5 gallon buckets soaking in fertilized water and plan to do this for two weeks until I go on vacay from work and have a day or two to devote to this project. Also to maybe help combat the Oil-Dri lowering my pH. I have to buffer my water with crushed coral (my driftwood made my pH crash well below 6.5 when I started,and straight out of the tap it's off the charts well past 8- Mississippi River water gH was 3 and kH was 5 or so if I remember right) and really want to be proactive about helping prevent it as much as I can.

I have some questions as I am fretting about the day to come,worries are taking over in my mind...hoping I can be put at ease or pointed in the right direction.