What to use for substrate? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-11-2008, 09:32 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
What to use for substrate?

I have been considering switching out the substrate in my planted tank for flourite as it is currently bare gravel, but i'd like some opinions as to whether or not it's worth it, and whether or not i should as this is my first attempt at planted aquaria.

its a low tech tank, 1.21 WPG
ferts are a half cap of flourish every week
no CO2 injection
I plan to add some Crypts in the near future

thanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-11-2008, 11:33 PM
Planted Member

Love the flourite, but RINSE it well before putting it in... do a search, but I used a 5 gallon bucket outside just kept water flowing in and overflowing and stirred up until the water ran clear... about 15 minutes a bag...

46 gallon bowfront, Dalmatian Mollies, Swordtails, Otos
75 gallon Lake Malawi African Cichlids
3 gallon nano desktop with Betta at the office
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-12-2008, 01:03 AM

Thumbs up

you will see a great difference in your plants. I say, go for it.

next thing you know, it's co2...lights...external filters....

it is an addiction

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-13-2008, 12:12 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (50/100%)
i see that robbob2112 likes the fluorite,but I have had some bad experiences with it. i rinsed it when i first got it but the water in my tank was for the most part always cloudy and when i stirred the gravel to put a plant in the water turned a very dark brown so it was impossible to see into the tank. this happened every time so i tore down my tank and replaced the fluorite with ecocomplete
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-16-2008, 03:21 PM Thread Starter