Do dirted tanks run out of nutrients? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-25-2014, 08:10 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)
Do dirted tanks run out of nutrients?

I'm pretty sure that my question has been asked in this group before; however, I am a noob to platned tanks. Do dirted tanks run out of nutrients? I want to dirt my tank with MGOCPM. I did some research on Google and I keep getting mixed information. Some people say that dirt runs out of nutrients, and others say it wont run out because the fish poop and other waste mater will keep it mineralized. I was wondering, what are other alternatives to MGOCPM?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-25-2014, 09:37 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (6/100%)
If fish waste will re-mineralize it then it will mineralize plain gravel also.
The reality of that one is that it will...in limited quantities.
For anything like a full house of plants you will eventuially need to add ferts as the
soil will run out of it's own nutrients much the same as a potted plant though not as fast.
Go to any on-line pet supply and use any substrate listed(except Laterite) or use
Pool Filter Sand or blasting sand but don't get a substrate that is for salt water tanks.
That can be confusing but anything that has the word coral in it is salt water and
just ask here about any other you are not sure about.
You can also get this same info by reading some in the section where you put this question. Just look down the list for ones which name a specific type. This is especially true if any say "List your favorite substrate."
I have plain gravel with Flourie on top of it in one of my tanks and Eco-Complete in the other one.

The shortest distance between any two points is a straight line...in the opposite direction...
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-25-2014, 10:38 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (12/100%)