Another annoying which substrate thread... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 51 (permalink) Old 01-04-2008, 04:23 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Another annoying which substrate thread...

Alright so from what Ive read here the three best substrates would be Eco-complete, SMS, and aquasoil.

I have a 55 gallon now with 1 bag of eco and 1 15lb bag of white sand from a LFS. Stupid I know. I wish there was a way of seperatin the two but I think thats impossible. Either way I need to get new substrate.

I though of that bucket of substrate from aquarium somewhat or the other, I forgot the name, but it seems a little too good to be true for 45 bucks.

To fill up my tank with eco or AS it would take at least 4 bags, which would be $100 and$120+ respectively. Im a student right now so I dont exactly think I should spend that much JUST on substrate when I need more things for my tank. So what I was thinking of doing was getting either one bag of AS or Eco and then splitting a SMS charcoal bag with somebody here thats from NY like me. That would easily give me 3" or so.

Im just kind of confused between all this right now and would appreciate any help. I will be using dry ferts very soon if thats helps any. I jsut need something that will hold plants down, especially stem plants. Must be good for rooted also. I have a few bottom dwellers too.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 51 (permalink) Old 01-04-2008, 04:27 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (266/100%)
You can sift out the EC from the sand using a colander.

Just use Eco-Complete with root tabs and dry ferts if cost is an issue. I wouldn't mix substrates, it'll be more trouble than it's worth.
post #3 of 51 (permalink) Old 01-04-2008, 05:27 AM Thread Starter

I just did some research. I think what Im going to do since the SMS is such a bigger grain than eco and ADA which technically I would imagine would be bad for stem plants and such is... (drumroll)