Opinions on 3M colourquartz gravel - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-29-2007, 06:42 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
Opinions on 3M colourquartz gravel

So I was looking for a cheap plant substrate, when I came across 3M colorquartz on a lot of reef/marine/cichlid forums. Apparently it's quite cheap, about $20 for 50 pounds, it's 3mm in grain size, is inert, and comes in black colour.

After some thread searching on those forums, I found a distributor in Toronto that sells 3M colorquartz gravel. I e-mailed the distributor, and they reply saying they do carry it. Still waiting for reply on the pricing right now.

What do you think of 3M colorquartz? I'm thinking of getting 50 pounds of the T-grade or S-grade Black Colorquartz.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-29-2007, 07:06 AM

PTrader: (0/0%)
hmm, im no pro, but the word quartz in it seems like it wont have good cec.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-29-2007, 09:05 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (22/100%)
i'm using black t grade.
i chose it because
1) its black
2) its cheap

i had to set up a 75 gallon tank and where else can you get 150 lbs of substate for $60? the grain size for the T grade is perfect imo.
it also holds a slope like a champ. i have cories and a clown pleco and the stuff does not kick up when they're swimming by.
if i had to do it all over again, i would still chose t grade because you can't beat the price. plus it looks fantastic.

Eheim Pimp Club #190

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-29-2007, 09:20 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (7/100%)
I love it. Unlike many black substrates it does not look gray under bright lighting. It is also very dense making planting foreground plants less frustrating. Get the T-grade the S-grade is much to fine.