Planning a 55 Gallon and have some substrate questions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-09-2014, 02:22 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (4/100%)
Planning a 55 Gallon and have some substrate questions

I am planning to do a low tech 55 and am thinking about substrate. I was going to do dirt, but it's starting to scare me because I think I will want to do a lot of rearranging plants and aquascape because I'm not really experienced enough to be able accurately plan it out and I think it will be a lot of trial and error.

I've gotten lucky and am getting 60 lbs of Eco-Complete but I'm thinking about also getting Activ Flora to mix or cap with, mostly to ease the fertilizer requirements as AF seems to have more essential nutrients for the plants. Here's what I'm wondering...

If I go EC and AF, I'm not sure if I should cap with one or the other or mix them together. I'm not quite sure of the size of the two substrates and density. From what I have gathered, EC is pretty fine and AF is mixed fine with larger pieces mixed in. If that is true, I would guess cap with EC?

I will want Cory's and both seem to be "safe" for them and it again makes me wonder about granule size.

It also seems the copper is not good for snails or shrimp and I noticed there is a little copper in AF. I can't find a datasheet for EC but have found evidence that it is safe.

AF copper is stated at 17 mg/kg. Is that enough to cause problems if I decide to try shrimp or snails? Is anyone using AF with shrimp or snails? I have not found anything conclusive with actual experience.

Thanks in advance for any advice and suggestions!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-09-2014, 09:46 PM