To mix or not to mix? Aquasoil and SMS - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-21-2007, 01:38 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (15/100%)
To mix or not to mix? Aquasoil and SMS

I have acquired about 1/2 bag Aquasoil Amazonia. I have 60+ lbs of SMS. I have a 30gal tank (30 x 18 x12) that this will be used in. I really don't think that 1/2 bag of AA is going to be sufficient for depth (please correct me if I'm wrong, I have no experience with the stuff). So, I was thinking I should use all the AA, and fill in what's needed by mixing in SMS. I guess the other option would be to use only SMS. I think that the plants could really benefit from the AA though, as I'll have 2x24wt T5HO lights over the tank. I got the Aquasoil at an auction, and it was real cheap. I had only planned on using SMS, but I figure that I could enhance it by adding the Aquasoil. I've already put (plenty) of money in the stand and canopy for this project, and really wasn't looking to ad more expense (more Aquasoil).

Thoughts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-21-2007, 01:51 PM
Banned

PTrader: (56/100%)
I'd put the AS on the bottom, sort of like Laterite.
then cover it over with a thick layer of your SMS.

SMS is a very light weight, so you'll need
to decide between having bottom feeders,
having fine rooted plants. it may be hard
to keep both in the same tank without the
plants getting uprooted regularly unless you
are able to introduce the bottom feeders a
Month or two after the fine plants take root.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-21-2007, 02:06 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (15/100%)