Aqua Soil VS Eco?? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-11-2007, 09:27 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (6/100%)
Aqua Soil VS Eco??

Ok Guys,

I am stuck. I like both products but am a loss as to what to get. Keep in mind I am looking at a long term set up. It is about a wash for me to go one way or the other. I am new to the whole planted tank thing and just want to start out on the right foot.

Curt
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-11-2007, 10:32 PM
Banned

PTrader: (56/100%)
wow, someone new to this hobby picking the top 2 substrates.
talk about beginners luck well, assuming cost is not an issue,
choosing between the two probably has more to do with what
kinds of fish and plants you hope to host. Eco is a heavier, so
if you plan on lots of bottom dwellers disturbing your substrate
that would be a better choice than AS, however if your focus
is on very small fine plant growing, and will stear clear of more
active bottom dwellers, then AS may be the better investment.
I assume you don't care about color, as many choose Eco over
AS simply because they prefer the unnatural high contrast black.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-11-2007, 10:50 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (22/100%)
I've used both and AS grows plants better and easier to plant on compared to Eco.

Eco is a darker black, and with a black background you put all the focus of the tank to the plants and fish.

And just like spypet said, if you have bottom dwellers, ECO is better as disturbed AS will make the tank cloudy.

post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-11-2007, 11:33 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (120/100%)