Substrate? (overwhelmed newbie here...) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-05-2007, 02:12 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (4/100%)
Substrate? (overwhelmed newbie here...)

I've been trying to sift through all of the info on this forum and I have to admit I'm a bit overwhelmed as I'm new to the planted tank thing. Any help you can offer would be so awesome... Here's my situation:
I'm setting up a little 5 gallon tank that I'm planning on planting but keeping very low tech. I only have 11 watts of CF lighting over it so it'll be low light, low tech though I will dose with the Flourish line of ferts (NPK, Iron, traces) and Excel (since I already have them for my other tank). The plants I'm planning on having are probably a couple of different anubias species, java fern, some mosses, plus maybe one or two swords or crpyts.

I'm trying to figure out what substrate to use. I like the look of the SMS and Aquasoil, but I'm wondering if it's practical since the plants I want aren't really root feeders (well, other than the crypts or swords and I can always supplement with root tabs if I use inert substrate). If it will help the plants grow better I'm more than willing to use the best substrate I can get. Will it make a difference if I use a plant substrate? I really want a dark substrate - if I don't go with a plant substrate any suggestions for an inert dark substrate that is fine-grained like that?

Any advice from all of you experienced plant gurus out there would be greatly greatly appreciated. Thanks so much in advance!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-05-2007, 04:32 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (75/100%)
The main reason that you want to use plant substrate for these plants is so their roots can take a good hold in the substrate. I've found that they dont attach themselves to the stone type substrate but readily do so with the clay based ones.