osmocote (?) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-17-2007, 04:16 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
osmocote (?)

i have ordered some SMS and expect to see it this week. i understand that it is pretty much inert and nutrient free, so i wonder about feeding roots in this new tank that i am setting up.

i have some experience with API Root Tabs, and i could use those. Root Tabs seem to work well, but i have wondered about mixing in osmocote as a less-expensive alternative.

any experience or general thoughts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-17-2007, 03:03 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (267/100%)
We used this on the APD and in AGA for many many years.
Used sparingly, works well.
It's a very good item for long term dosing of the sediment.

Regards,
Tom Barr

Regards,
Tom Barr
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-17-2007, 03:32 PM

Puchisapo,

I would hesitate to use Osmocote. First of all, in my experience it floats. Second, the content of those little capsules is dispensed in part as a reaction to moisture, so the "slow release" aspect of it will be less effective, and you won't have any control over the rate of release. Third, and most importantly, from the Scott's website itself, one of the main ingredients in the makeup of some of the capsules is "polymer encapsulated sulfer coated urea. If that doesn't wreak havoc with your ammonia levels, I'd be surprised.

http://www.scottsprohort.com/_docume...smocotePro.pdf

In the interest of full disclosure, I have a beef with the Scott's corporation because they are suing Terracycle, a very small organic fertilizer company. They claim that the packaging looks too similar to their own. Terracycle uses old 1 and 2 liter bottles (recycled soda bottles) to package their product. The whole thing smacks of the big guy picking on the little guy in my opinion, so I'm not going to use any Scott's products.