New to Dirted Tanks- Help! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-02-2013, 05:57 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
Unhappy New to Dirted Tanks- Help!

So last night I set up my first dirt tank. Its a 25gal with Miracle Grow Organic Potting Soil (about an inch and a half) with an Eco Complete cap (about an inch). I soaked the soil for an hour prior to putting it in the tank. I capped it with the Eco Complete and some black inert sand in other places. I tried the garbage bag method as to not disturb the substrate, but being a newbie I still managed to stir up the dirt. I did a bad job at filtering out the little wood chips (is that mulch?) and now its everywhere, as well as a little layer of dirt and much has settled over everything. I did a 90% water change just now and the water looks a lot better but its still terrible. Will those wood chips break down over time, or should I remove them manually (which would be maddening). Can I just add another 1/2 inch cap to the whole substrate?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-02-2013, 06:06 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (3/100%)
wood will break down but not quick

you will have to keep up with the water changes for a couple weeks as the wood and dirt leaches

use you siphon to suck up the chips and escaped dirt

lots of people screen out the wood before adding Miracle grow to tank, me i just rip open the bag and pour it in

It is better to travel well than to arrive.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-02-2013, 06:09 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by hambone870 View Post
wood will break down but not quick