Aquasoil Question: - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-22-2006, 04:30 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (51/100%)
Send a message via AIM to mrbelvedere Send a message via Yahoo to mrbelvedere
Aquasoil Question:

As my R/O unit broke several months ago (and Coralife wasn't too cool about replacing it) I have been using straight tap for about 6 months. Not a big deal, my tanks are fairly low tech.

However, I have a new high tech setup coming tomorrow (ADA 60-P, Aquasoil, powersand, etc.)

I was wondering if, since ADA soil is usually used in low kH/gH water, will my water cause many of Aquasoil's benefits to be rendered moot? It's acid conditions will be quickly canceled out by my high pH/gH/kH water.

I dose EI (not ready for PPS yet) and I do a lot of water changes. Buying distilled really isn't a viable option.

In college....so no aquariums for a while.....
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-22-2006, 04:31 AM
Banned

PTrader: (12/100%)
Nope, we have pretty high kH out of the tap and i have had zero issues with AS and pressurized CO2.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-22-2006, 04:47 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (51/100%)
Send a message via AIM to mrbelvedere Send a message via Yahoo to mrbelvedere
So you still notice a tangible benefit with Aquasoil and hard water?

In college....so no aquariums for a while.....
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 12-22-2006, 05:09 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (9/100%)
My tap water typically has a KH of 14-18 and GH of 18-22. One week after setting up a 20h with one 9-liter bag of AquSoil the KH was 2 and the GH 4. That was about five months ago. Today the KH is at 4 but the GH is back up in the 20s.