Substrate Depth - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-17-2006, 12:25 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Substrate Depth

Hello everyone, I am setting up my first planted aquarium (55 gal euro bowed front) and have a question regarding substrate depth. Is 3 inches enough? Those 3 inches consist of half natural aquarium gravel (medium sized) with a top half layer of flourite. If it needs to be deeper, would it be wise to add maybe another inch of plain gravel on top of the flourite layer? Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-17-2006, 03:10 AM

Another newbie like me

Hi,

I am a newbie too!

I was going to use flourite and a tub of Tetra complete aquatic soil mixed together. However I was under the impression that a good 2 inch level of this rich substrate goes down first, then a layer of fine gravel or river sand on top to hold it down. The plant roots will reach down into the rich layer for nutrients via osmosis.

JJ
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-17-2006, 03:50 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (36/100%)
Send a message via AIM to JenThePlantGeek
Is 3 inches enough? YES.

But most people have had better luck using 100% of a single plant-friendly substrate like flourite instead of layering it with gravel or mixing two substrates together. Gravel is inert, so it does nothing for your plants. The one exception is that people DO use it to conver soil in low-tech soil tanks. The soil would be really messy should it get into your water column, so gravel is needed to hold it down. If you're using something like Flourite then you certainly don't NEED gravel with it!