Composition of Soilmaster Select? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-11-2006, 03:06 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Composition of Soilmaster Select?

What exactly makes up this stuff? I've been hearing such good things about it that I decided to use it in my 30 gallon setup 2 months ago. Well it seems (results not conclusive yet) that my substrate may be seriously lacking in nutrients. My plants are exhibiting signs of deficient nutrients in the root system... can anyone tell me what exactly Soilmaster Select is made of or what it is most similar too? I'd like to determine if this indeed is a good, rich substrate alternative to the more proven (and expensive) ones. Do we have any info on this?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-11-2006, 03:27 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (117/100%)
I am not an experte in susbtrate or nutrients, but I have it in one of my tanks. The substrate is made for golf and baseballs fields I believe. According to people it is inert. My guess is that you will have to dose the water column at least to see growth in demanding plants. I do not think it has enough in it to be able to grow healthy plants like ADA Aquasoil and other substrate made specifically for aquarium use.

I am pretty sure someone with expertise on the subject will answer you with more details.

-Pedro
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 12-11-2006, 05:03 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (84/100%)
Soilmaster, filter sand, Flourite, etc. are all inert substrates. Soilmaster, like Flourite, is a baked clay product, and it provides good cation exchange capacity. You have to fertilize with all of these products. You can do water column fertilizing and/or substrate fertilizing, but you have to provide the fertilizers. Even ADA Aquasoil only contains enough fertilizers for a limited amount of time. Once those are used up you still need to provide fertilizers.

Hoppy