Not finishing MTS cycle - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-15-2013, 05:36 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Not finishing MTS cycle

So my girlfriend has had it with the giant tarp covering our entire patio with mud. Doesn't look like I am going to be able to completely the wet/dry cycle that is recommended 3 to 4 times. Is this a disaster? I understand I am going to have more excess nutrients initially...thus algae blooms. But does the soil mineralize over time in the tank? should I just be careful at the start? Let me know what you guys think. There is just no way right now for me to completely finish it. Kind of sucks.

Last edited by GriffinB; 07-15-2013 at 05:37 AM. Reason: Spelling
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-15-2013, 06:49 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (4/100%)
Look into the "dry start method" (DSM). I'm no expert, but my understanding is that some mineralization goes on during that process, so it'd probably be enough to get your substrate about 90% done by the time you flood the tank.

It's not perfect, but it'd help cut the excess nutrients and get the tarp off the patio. The benefit is that you could get a nice carpet of HC rooted, which would be much more difficult once the tank is flooded (especially if you're going for a low-tech setup!).
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-15-2013, 08:47 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

you read my mind... as I was planning on doing an HC carpet with a dry start method. I am doing a high-tech setup so it is good to know that I have not totally messed things up. thank you.

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-15-2013, 09:33 PM
Wannabe Guru