Make me understand - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-17-2006, 10:40 PM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
Make me understand

I have been trying to understand everyones thread about substrata and failed. Will someone kindly direct me to a site which will make me understand what you people are up to. All my life, and I have been keeping fishes for over 40 years now, I never worried about substrata, and never had any problems with it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-17-2006, 11:36 PM
Banned

PTrader: (56/100%)
if you keep fish, the substrate or gravel hardly matters unless those fish use the substrate looking for food, protection or to spawn. to keep fish, you need to approximate the water conditions they live in in terms of temperature, pH, hardness, salinity, and dissolved oxygen, etc.

if you keep aquatic plants, you must realize these plants can come from all over the world, and the plants will thrive best in a substrate that approximates their native habitat, sort of the way you match your water conditions to what makes your fish most comfortable. since most aquatic plants come from similar environments alone the equatorial regions of our planet, a single optimal gravel type can host the broadest range of plants.

in order to do that, 4 issues can come into play.

-the average grain size of each rock in your substrate
+and+
-is the substrate inert, or full of fertilizing nutrients.
+and+
-will the substrate effect the WATER chemistry of your tank.
+and+
-will the substrate host beneficial bacteria & microorganisms.

now let's elaborate on those 2 major issues.