Substrate reccomendations - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 46 (permalink) Old 07-05-2013, 03:56 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Substrate reccomendations

I recently bought a 55 gal and I want to get it set up properly, inititally I thought about using eco-complete because it did a decent job in my 20gal but I'm wondering what the planted tank community thinks a good option is? Keep in mind that I'm a college student so money is a bit of an issue. I was interested in ADA aquasoil since it keeps a constant pH but it seems rather pricey for my budget.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 46 (permalink) Old 07-05-2013, 05:10 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (10/100%)
I bought UP aqua soil on greenleafaquariums.com Its a little cheaper. Or u can get fluval stratum on kensfish.com for a good price. Both are much better then eco I'm sure you will be impressed.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus

8g Fluval 1M CT Betta
125g 5 Blood parrots, 1 Green Severum, 8 Dension Barbs, 10 Yoyo Loaches, 1 RTS
75g Angelfish, 3 EBGR, 4 Siames Alage Eaters, 12 Harlequin Rasboars, 1 BN Pleco, 1 Swordtail
33g long cherry shrimp, 8 pygmy corys, 5 ottos
15g 2 GBR
post #3 of 46 (permalink) Old 07-05-2013, 05:54 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by bankruptjojo View Post
I bought UP aqua soil on greenleafaquariums.com Its a little cheaper. Or u can get fluval stratum on kensfish.com for a good price. Both are much better then eco I'm sure you will be impressed.

I think I'll research the UP Aquasoil a bit, it's currently out of stock but for it seems promising. How much would I need to fill up a 55g suitably? I don't remember how much I needed to fill up my 20g a few years back ha ha

post #4 of 46 (permalink) Old 07-05-2013, 06:11 AM
Planted Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefus_prime View Post