Have I screwed up my substrate? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-21-2013, 05:12 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Have I screwed up my substrate?

OK, I am a rank beginner, but I am at the end of my cycling process on a 55 gallon tank and am about to put the plants in. I am using the full set of ADA substrate.

However, I think I screwed up, I'm just not sure how badly. When putting my hardscape in I ended up moving it around quite a bit, and a fair amount of the mid-granularity substrate is now on the surface. I know that the fine-granularity substrate is supposed to completely cover the surface, especially if you want to grow something like hemianthus, which I do.

How much harder will some of the coarser, mid-level substrate (can't remember the name right now) on the surface make it to grow hc?

And, what are some remedial actions I could take? Would adding in another few cm of the fine substrate be an option? Would that release too much ammonia into a tank that has finally cycled?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-21-2013, 05:49 AM
OVT
Carpe Diem

PTrader: (144/100%)
You are fine.
I think you are referring to ADA's PowerSand: whitish porous 'pebbles'. You can try to push them back to the bottom. Over time, they will end up on top of your substrate anyways. I have one tank with it also and it is a pain...

I would go and plant as soon as you can. I would also start fertilizing.

Do check that your cycle is over before adding fish.

via Droid DNA Tapatalk 2

Courtesy * Integrity * Perseverance * Indominable Spirit * and Self Control
Tenets of TKD
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-21-2013, 06:10 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

Thanks for your reply. The Power Sand is the most coarse layer. That's on the way bottom. There is then an intermediate layer, followed by a fine layer. It's the intermediate layer that is peeking through.