Sand Help? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-25-2006, 05:13 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Red face Sand Help?

Ok, Hi all havent been here in a while and I have been neglecting my tank for about 7-8 months. by neglecting I mean no dosing, once a month water change and no trimming. Now my hairgrass Is covered in hairy algae and isnt growing as well as before. Yes I know not dosing is part of the cause but I have noticed that my sand has settled? All thwe large particles are on top while all the finer particles have settled down to the bottom. Could this Inhibit root growth? I have also noticed small pockets of air in the sand around plant roots. Is this cause for concern? opinions please...

P.s. I am trying to whip my tank back into shape...
sorry to ramble..
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-25-2006, 05:28 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (1/100%)
That was what I saw right before my tank with the sand substrate totaly crashed. The tank did great untill gas started to build up in the substrate. As I broke up the gas pockets it stunk to high heaven. The sand also got into my filters and destroyed the impellers and cost me a lot of $ to replace filters.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-25-2006, 05:35 AM Thread Starter

Maybe I could just siphon the sand out?? Would this be dangerous to the fish?

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-25-2006, 07:35 AM
Banned

PTrader: (24/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogg76 View Post
Maybe I could just siphon the sand out?? Would this be dangerous to the fish?
Doubt it. But I am no expert.

Ehfipimp #273 ( Eheim Classic: 2260, 2217, Eheim Ecco: 2236, 2232 ) Fluval FX5

post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-26-2006, 08:18 AM Thread Starter

Bump! Come on guys?
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-26-2006, 12:02 PM