Dirt - does the water ever clear up? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-24-2013, 03:14 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Dirt - does the water ever clear up?

I have been soaking my topsoil in the aquarium for a couple weeks, and the water is black. I have drained the water, and I am refilling the aquarium now. I should be getting some plants in tomorrow. Will the water eventually clear up, or will I have to do several 100% water changes? This is my first time trying soil.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-24-2013, 03:21 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (4/100%)
Why didn't you soak it before putting it in the aquarium?
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-24-2013, 05:21 AM
Algae Grower

Do you have the dirt capped with anything like gravel or sand? if not you need to, cause keeping a clear tank will be impossible :p

I know that my destiny wasn't written in the stars, it was just a part of satellites....

55g planted, with bosemani, turquoise, and Australian rainbows.
40g low light, yellow neocaridina, tetra tank.
55g mbuna tank
Dirt<3

God formed Man out of dirt from the ground and blew into his nostrils the breath of life. The Man came alive - a living soul-- Genesis 2:7

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-24-2013, 11:04 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

It is capped with about an inch of sand. I soaked it using the aquarium because it was a HUGE amount of dirt. I anticipated that the water would be cloudy in this process, I just didn't realize how dense the cloudiness would be. I guess we'll just see how it goes...
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-24-2013, 11:59 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (3/100%)
mine clears up with-in the first week, granted i did do a few big wc's first 3 days or so

i filled dry dirt into my tank and put just enough water in it to make "mud" not too loose and not to dry