Need help, just starting out! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-21-2013, 11:43 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (22/100%)
Hello all!

I am about to attempt to start up my 10 gallon fish tank that's been sitting in my basement for god knows how long and I want to make it a planted tank. I am completely new to this world of planted tanks so I needs some help/advice!

How much substrate would I need for a 10 gallon tank? I was searching around to find the cheapest possible materials that I can find and I found this: Mr. Aqua Aquarium Soil Plant Substrate - 1 Liter
Description:

Mr. Aqua Water Plant Soil. Specifically designed with the hobbyists in mind for planted aquariums. The Mr Aqua Soil is composed using specific proprietary blends of organic and inert ingredients. Mr Aqua Water Plant Soil will provide all essential elements as well as a stable and ideal rooting media. The Soil will also provide buffering capacities for softening water as well as buffering PH from 6.6 Ė 6.8 depending on water parameters.

Long lasting fertilized plant substrate up to 12-18 months.
Purify the water that is stained from driftwoods.
Prolong water exchange periods of up to 6 months.
Stabilizes the pH to hold within 6.6-6.8 with a porous granular structure that is easily penetrated by plant roots.

Would this substrate suffice and would it be enough for a 10 gallon tank? I'm also planning to put a layer of gravel on top of the substrate.

Also, if anyone knows of any place or website where I can get substrate for cheap, please let me know! I'm on a very tight budget! ><

Last edited by Darkblade48; 05-22-2013 at 10:36 AM. Reason: Please use the edit function for back to back posts to keep threads cleaner
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-22-2013, 12:39 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (7/100%)
2 best websites I have found for almost anything you need for aquariums are...