need advice on substrate please - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-10-2006, 01:53 AM Thread Starter
tmm

PTrader: (0/0%)
need advice on substrate please

Hi, I am new to freshwater tanks. I have a 240 gal. reef tank. I have been doing saltwater tanks for 8 years. I just had a 150 gal. tank given to me. It has the lighting system for a reef (vho and pc). I was going to do salt with it,but really want to try fresh. I made the mistakes of salt by starting with fish only then to reef. The requirements are completely different and costly changes were made. I dont want to make the same mistakes with freshwater. I know I want to go with plants. So, what kind of substate would you start with and how deep? I will be reading up on all that I can. I have Rex's Guide printed out too. Also the tank has a blue background painted on it. Should I try to get this off or is blue acceptable?
Thanks, Tina
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-10-2006, 02:46 AM
Are these real?

PTrader: (194/100%)
Hi Tina, welcome to The Planted Tank!

You will read many opinions on substrate, there are many options between cheap and expensive.

Probably the simplest would be to buy a few bags of Flourite or Eco-Complete, depending on your color preference.

If that is too expensive, there are some cheaper things available with similar characteristics, like Soilmaster, or Schultz/Profile.

On the bottom of the price scale, there is sandblasting grit/coarse sand/fine gravel.

Lots of choices. Depth of substrate depends a little on what plants you want to plant, some are root-feeders and need fatter substrates, like Sword Plants. Others, stem plants, ferns, mosses, won't care since they take their nutrients from the water column. On average, I'd say 2in in front and 3in in the back are sufficient.