Subtrates - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-06-2006, 02:10 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Subtrates

Hey guys, im a newbie to this aquarium plant hobby. I have always kept cichlids but when I went to my LFS I was amaze by this plant aquarium. I was wondering is it necessary to have lights for it because I leave my aquariu right next to the window so is sunlight good for the plants. I also saw that the LFS had their plants wrap in some kind of white/brownish material with just the plant inside and I saw the roots coming out. I was wondering is it necessary to leave the whole tank in subtrates or I can just buy the plants and wrap it around with a little fertilizer and subtrates and put it under the gravel. Sorry I ask the question because my cousin who had a plant aquarium say it require a lot of work to keep the aquarium looking clean, and I'm currently in college so I dont have a lot of time to cut all of the plants.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-06-2006, 02:57 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (84/100%)
1. Yes, you need at least 1.5 watts per gallon to grow even the low light plants, or 2 -2.5 watts per gallon to grow most plants. Sunlight would work fine if the tank were outdoors where the light is brighter. But, unless the light is from the top of the tank, the plants will grow sideways towards where ever the light is from.

2. To avoid growing mostly algae you need over half of the substrate surface covered with growing plants when you start up the aquarium, so you do need a substrate over the entire tank bottom. But, that can be ordinary quartz sand, or it can be a cheap clay based substance like Soilmaster, or it can be an aquarium product like Eco Complete. Any of those will allow you to grow plants.

3. Read Rex Grigg's guide to learn the basics of planted aquaria - doesn't take a long time and the information is up to date.

Hoppy