New substrate. Filter off or On ? How long ? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-12-2012, 03:44 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
Question New substrate. Filter off or On ? How long ?

Hello everyone. This is my first attempt at a planted aquarium. It seems I have jumped into this before actually being intellectually ready. Now I'm on the internet looking for answers. This community looks amazing. I plan to stick around.

I have a 29 gallon and Eheim classic 250 canister filter(unestablished).

Question:

I purchased fluval strathum substrate. The directions say to rinse lightly. I did this, and I can tell the water wouldn't be instantly clear. I filled my aquarium as gently as I could but the water is quite muddy. I cant really see anything in the aquarium. I don't want to turn on any filtration because I dont know if I should wait. I'm not quite sure what I should do at this point. Any tips are very welcome. Thank you in advance. I'm sorry if this question is super boring.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-12-2012, 03:59 PM

PTrader: (3/100%)
Turn on your filter and let it do its thing.

The dust from the substrate will eventually settle.

In the meantime, you can look around for articles regarding cycling your aquarium so that it can support fish/shrimp/other livestock.

Finally, welcome to TPT.

Anthony

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Eheim Pimp #362 - Eheim 2213 x2, Eheim 2028, Eheim 2217, Eheim surface skimmer and Eheim autofeeder.
Victor Pimp #33 - HPT272-125-350-4M
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-12-2012, 04:41 PM
Planted Tank Guru

stuff floss in your filter, it will collect all the particles and clear up in no time.