adding gravel to increase the depth - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-04-2012, 03:36 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
adding gravel to increase the depth

Hi all,
this is my first post and im a beginner. Im trying to setup a low ligth no co2 tank. The tank is been cycled and running for 2 months with some fishes. I have regular gravel, 20 pounds for 20 g tank. My question is the normal gravel is good enough with gravel for basic plants ( I orderd couple of stem from the forum) and depth of the gravel seems to be low, do i need to add more gravel and if yes can i just add it to the top if the existing gravel, will it trigger another cycle?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-04-2012, 05:28 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (1/100%)
stem plants will be alright in plain gravel. it will also mature a little bit, as detritus builds up. some sand mixed in instead of more gravel would be better. all the sand will sink to the bottom. depending on how much you bury or blow around, it may or may not trigger a mini-cycle. do filter maintenance a couple days before hand to make sure it can physically clear up the water as you're working.

ludwigia repens "broad leaf" is probably the easiest and fastest growing stem i have. water sprite is more of a fern, but often called a stem, and it wont care much about poor gravel either and makes a great live-in bio filter.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 11-05-2012, 09:23 PM
Planted Tank Guru

If you have some driftwood or rocks in the tank, you could always attach some java fern or anubias to them, they just cling to rocks and stuff (I don't know what the term is for the aquatic version of an epiphyte...), so they don't really have any substrate requirements.