Substrate under or over gravel? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-28-2012, 07:50 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Exclamation Substrate under or over gravel?

I recently started a planted tank and although things are goin well, I'm considering changing my gravel only bottom, to a natural dark earthy substrate. (poor planning) Can I just take out half my gravel and add the substrate on top? I'm new at planted tanks and would appreciate any advice.

Steward of the Tank
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-28-2012, 07:54 PM
AVN
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (18/100%)
Depends on your substrate of choice, what are you planning on using?

hi
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-28-2012, 08:06 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

I haven't really decided yet. I want something thats got a smaller gauge than my gravel and thats more natural looking. I saw different varieties at my local aquaria store. I don't know much about them and just want something that will be really good for my plants and fish and give my tank a nice natural look. Right now I've got a mix of brown toned gravel and it looks more like a tank and less like the natural bottom I would like. Is there anything you would recommend? I'm not really huge on the white sand, was thinking darker like blackish brown...peat?

Steward of the Tank
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-28-2012, 08:08 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Or should I stay the chosen course because it been nearly two months and my plants and fish are doing really well...

Steward of the Tank
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-28-2012, 08:19 PM
AVN
Wannabe Guru