Miracle Gro + Gravel + Cup + Bare Bottom Tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-26-2012, 09:18 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (7/100%)
Miracle Gro + Gravel + Cup + Bare Bottom Tank

Ok so I am a newbie when it comes to plants in the tank but I have an idea. I use bare bottoms on most of my tanks but have some rooting plants that will be coming in soon. The plan is to keep the bare bottom tanks but still plant the plants. I am planing on taking a small water bottle and cutting the top off then doing the Miracle Gro and gravel in a cup with the plants. I think that I will get the Miracle Gro wet first put the plant in or maybe a little layer of gravel first not sure.? Then put gravel carefully around the plant. I am not sure if I should put any holes in the side where the gravel would be to get the water flowing through or not? Or how much to use of the soil and gravel? Any suggestions or thoughts?!

Thanks All!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-26-2012, 11:20 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
Potted Tanks w/ Miracle Gro

Hello Blue...

Small plastic pots will work well for the aquatic plants. I use the pots with Organic Miracle Gro and standard aquarium pea gravel in my planted tanks, so it's easy to move the plants around or stack them to take advantage of the lighting. (See attached pic).

B

"Fear not my child, just change the tank water."

Last edited by BBradbury; 11-11-2012 at 06:41 PM.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-26-2012, 02:44 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

Thank you BBradbury

I thought it would work just glad to see that it dose work. Your tank looks very nice and so dose your plants there big too. Just hoping that I can get mine to look that nice too.

Blueangel

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-26-2012, 02:44 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (68/100%)