substrate for a 120g - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-21-2012, 12:53 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
substrate for a 120g

Hello,

I made a post in the general planted forum but I decided to come here for my substrate related questions.

I was wondering if anyone could give me some pointers/the best way to go about substrate in a large tank (120g).

Currently I only have 2" sand but am prepared to dump that all out for something better suited for plants.

I am hoping for the cheapest method possible, as I'm a poor student!!!

Thank you!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-21-2012, 01:44 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (35/100%)
How coarse is the sand? If it is pool filter sand rather than play sand then stick root tabs under the heavily rooted plants and you are good to go.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

River Bank

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

MOP* Nano
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-21-2012, 02:12 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (5/100%)
I am working on a 125g build and decided to go with MTS capped with Saf T Sorb. I got the MTS donated from a local hobbyist and I bought the Saf T Sorb at Tractor Supply for $4.99 / bag. I got 3 bags of Saf T Sorb and should have plenty. $15 for substrate is not too bad at all. The MTS would've still been pretty cheap even if I didn't get it free.

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-21-2012, 04:18 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

The sand is play sand. I have occassionaly stuck root tabs in there, I guess I was hoping for a more self sufficient soil.

Not sure about SafeTSorb.. the grains look really big/sharp, which isn't well suited for cories. And cories might just be my favourite fish in that tank right now! lol