Substrate ? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-15-2012, 07:26 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Substrate ?

I'm new to the hobby and I'm going to set up a 40gb with co2. I'm looking towards sand type substrates in order for my Cory's to poke around in. How is the fluorite black sand? I'm thinking of blasting sand or 3m color quarts also. Any information or experiences will be appreciated. Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-15-2012, 07:34 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (12/100%)
I liked fluorite black, it's pretty abrasive tho, can scratch glass and for sure plexi or acrylic.
Plant roots love it, and it's heavy to it holds them down nicely. The color is not very even but that loos a but more natural than other uniform black sands.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-15-2012, 07:46 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Thanks for the info. I haven't decided on color ( light or dark ). What about pfs ?

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-15-2012, 08:26 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (4/100%)
Flourite black sand is VERY dirty and will cloud your water like nobody's business. You might be able to get around this by rinsing the sand first, but I have only used 1 bag of it and I did not.
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-15-2012, 08:42 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (12/100%)
It clouds the water in the beginning if you disturbe it a lot, I would just be very careful when filling up. I had a nice canister so I guess that helped.
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-15-2012, 08:44 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Thanks. Does anyone have experience with 3m color quartz?
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-17-2012, 07:11 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (10/100%)
I thought it wasn't available anymore? Anyhow I used to use 3M Colorquartz with dwarf loaches. I don't know if they dig as much as cories but their barbels always looked good. You will need to rinse it but it's not too bad.