Just a newb question - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-04-2012, 01:52 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Just a newb question

I have been reading on here about dirt and sand and I was just wondering if my plants will grow in gravel? I'm new to the plants in the tank thing but I love the way they look so I went out and got some amazon swords and java ferns and put them in my tank. I really hope they don't do because of my lack of research.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-04-2012, 02:24 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (64/100%)
Hi Stump,

Plants need light, fertilizer, and something to put their roots into; gravel will work just fine. Here is my first planted tank with natural gravel, Seachem Flourish Comprehensive fertilizer, and 2 watts per gallon of lighting. BTW, I hope you attached your java ferns to hardscape and didn't try to 'plant' them in the gravel.

30 gallon with natural gravel

Roy_________
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

75 Gallon, 2X55W AH Supply CF 8800K, 1XFluval F&P 2.0; 45 Gallon Tall, 96Watt AH Supply CF 6700K; 30 Gallon Long; Fluval F&P 2.0; 20 Gallon, 1X26W AH Supply LED; all with CO2 and (Calcined) Montmorillonite Clay
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-04-2012, 02:34 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Let's just say someone I know planted the java ferns is that a bad thing

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-04-2012, 02:45 PM
Planted Tank Guru

Hi Stump26,