Kitty litter, FloraMax, Pool Filter Sand - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-25-2012, 01:29 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Kitty litter, FloraMax, Pool Filter Sand

I am looking for a cheap substrate for my 55g tank. I have a nearly full 25lb bag of Special Kitty and a 12lb bag of FloraMax. The FM is on sale for about $10. I was thinking of getting another bag or two of that and mixing it all with the kitty litter and capping with PFS. I'm completely new to planted aquariums and substrates, so I'm looking for some thoughts or suggestions on cheap, effective substrate.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-25-2012, 01:33 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (23/100%)
Um, I personally would not use kitty litter. They can have lots of chemical like odor neutralizers that wouldn't be good for fish. You could buy play sand to cap of floramax or mix it in.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Boulders-Upon-Meadow"

My Golden Rule of planted tanks: WWTAD-
"What would Takashi Amano do?"

RAOK Club #69
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-25-2012, 01:35 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
I've seen a lot of discussion about that, and most people say that the cheapest of the cheap litters will be ok if they don't have the chemicals, and that's what I have. Special Kitty is one of the often mentioned brands to use.

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-25-2012, 02:24 AM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (15/100%)
All you have to do is check the content of it. Just get the kind that is all clay and no clumping agents, aromas, etc.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-25-2012, 04:55 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (25/100%)