Pond soil instead of garden soil? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-19-2012, 08:12 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (4/100%)
Pond soil instead of garden soil?

So I am deciding to use soil on the bottom topped with Petco black aquarium sand for my 5 gallon planted shrimp tank. I chose the black because it would make seeing the shrimp easier and the dirt is to have better plant growth and less CO2 injection. I'm currently having hair algae problems in my old tank and so wanted to try CO2 injection in this tank with dirt. I'm basically going with the Walstad method since I'm a student and don't want to maintain the tank too much. Had anyone tried taking soil or muck at the bottom from a pond and using that instead of garden soil? Would it be better since it is already in or closer to a decomposing state? My only concern is foreign parasites and other harmful things that may be in that pond. It's a school pond that has gold fish and turtles in it. Any thoughts? Thanks

Sent from my HTC_A510c using Tapatalk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-19-2012, 09:06 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (31/100%)
Are you talking about using actual soil from an outdoor natural pond, or commercial "pond soil"? Whats at the bottom of an actual pond could be filled with all sorts of crap that I would never want in my aquarium, particularly with shrimp. Shrimp are very sensitive to water conditions and any ammonia that leeches from soil.

Quote:
Would it be better since it is already in or closer to a decomposing state?
No, that would make it worse

Robert Paul Hudson

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Kindness like love is unconditional
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-19-2012, 09:15 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (4/100%)