Aquariumplants.com soft belly soil? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-06-2012, 05:28 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Aquariumplants.com soft belly soil?

Hi, I'm new to planted tanks and need your help. I recently purchased a used 55 gal with pea gravel, (6) anubias & (2) amazon swords. I'm interested in changing the substrate over to something better for root nutrient absorption. This is a community tank stocked with fish, and because of the (3) botia histroinica I'm thinking soil with a sand cap wouldn't be a good way to go as I read they like to bury themselves & I think they will kick up the soil a lot. I have ruled out ADA Aquasoil as I would not like to put my fish through the amonia bloom. I like the looks of the soft belly soil on aquariumplants.com website.

Does anyone here have any experience with it? Will it be too rough on my botias? Would it need to be gravel vaccuumed? Is it advisable to use a substrate heater with this type of substrate if I'm also planning on using root tabs? Here it is: http://www.aquariumplants.com/Freshw...trate_p/ss.htm

I'd like to eventually add some cryptocorynes (wendtii & balansae), and some low-light stem plants, and a few red tiger lotus.

Any advice on this type of substrate would be appreciated. Thank you, Wendy
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-06-2012, 06:48 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

I use Flourite. It is very good. Its loaded with nutrients. I do not use root tabs. If your tank is heavily planted I would not vacuum it. I would do water changes though. All the junk that gathers at the bottom should dissolve into your soil and turn into more nutrients.
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-06-2012, 07:09 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

The fluorite at my LFS is pretty rough looking stuff. I'm thinking the Botias might not like it do you have any botias with your fluorite?

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-06-2012, 07:22 PM