I need expert advice - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-17-2012, 08:25 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
I need expert advice

I just ordered 40lbs of eco-complete. I dont have it yet but I intend to setup my 20g tank as a low tech planted tank. Having never used this stuff before, I am not sure if I should buy new sand or the typical aquarium gravel to cover the eco-complete.

What suggestions can people give me? I expect that I will need to wash the eco complete, or should i set it up and fill the tank and run the filter for the first week or so before adding plants and fish?

I dont yet have the light I ordered for the tank yet, soI will set thinks up in stages.

All comments Welcome.
YukonCaper
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-17-2012, 10:17 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (1/100%)
Im not a expert but i can tell you from experience... sand will eventually seep though the Eco complete and mix with it.

Smaller particles will always drop to the lowest portion...

And unless u dont like the looks of eco complete being black, which then u can go another type of substrate, just have a single substrate.

If you want a beach effect.... half your tank 1 substrate and the other half another, you need a divider so they wont intermix.

But yeah i didnt do research the first time with eco complete and mix'd it with sand to create a bicolor effect... well needless to say that didnt last very long.. :P

Also no need to wash it... just dump it inside your tank... add water, run a filter.. and start your cycle...

Lastly, i suggest u get some root tabs... and plant them inside your substrate after u have cycled.
Eco complete does not all the required ferts inside it like AquaSoil does.
Its a very high CEC substrate, so root tabs work really well with eco complete.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-17-2012, 10:36 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower