newbie getting dirty (maybe) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-27-2012, 12:02 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
newbie getting dirty (maybe)

so let me start by saying I am new to aquatics all together. I am starting a 15g fresh water planted tank. I have experience growing plants just not under water. I think I am going to make this a dirt tank. that just makes sence to me with what I have envisioned for this tank. I have done research and I'm almost ready to commit. Just have a few questions for the dirt guys. hopefully the fraternity can help out.

Compaired to others options, how much maintenance goes along with a dirt tank. As far as nutrition and cleaning go?

How long do the natural nutrients stay in the dirt?

Do you ever have to add more dirt/cap?

I am finding most guys plant all there plants right when they add the dirt. Is it hard to add plants later on or just a PIA?

Last but not least. What about soil straight out of a river? This is already mineralized right? so if I dry and sift and then add some dolomite and maybe some clay would that be the same thing?

Thanks ahead of time. If you even read this far
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-27-2012, 12:59 AM
Wannabe Guru

Well, here is my opinionated response yo your questions.

Compaired to others options, how much maintenance goes along with a dirt tank. As far as nutrition and cleaning go?

Less as far as nutrients go. You will not need to use root tabs to feed your plants, for a long long time. Water column dosing may still be required based on the type of plants you have (think mosses), but even that is less required if you ask me. I have done very little dosing in my main dirt tank...I think maybe a few ounces of Leaf Zone until I ran out a couple months ago.