New Substrate for Beginner - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-26-2012, 09:05 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (7/100%)
New Substrate for Beginner

Hey, i am just starting to take it a little more serious with my 55 gal freshwater. I am building a canopy with two 4' 54W T5HO 6400k and i will be introducing Co2 into the system. My question is, what is a good planting substrate to use? The tank is biologically active, has fish, but nothing in it except some old Eco Complete substrate and gravel topping that off. I am willing to dig up all old substrate and start over from scratch but i am trying to figure out the best solution.

Plants will include

Dwarf Baby tears
Anubias Nana
Amazon Sword
Java Fern (Narrow leaf)(Microsorium pteropus)

And ANY suggestions, i really am a complete beginner at the plants and substrate thing.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-26-2012, 10:47 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)
Dirt is a great and cheap substrate. There are plenty of threads in the forum which can tell you how its done. You can go with a mineralized top soil (MTS takes some work to prepare, but IMO is the best) or you can use Miracle Grow Organic Potting mix (MGOPM). Both options require a capping of sand or gravel or flourite or whatever. You could easily cap it with what you have already. You can have great success with either.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-27-2012, 02:55 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

So, miracle grow really wont annihilate the chemistry in my tank? i know it has to be the organic potting mix not the planting mix and should i soak it for a few days, i was thinking of soaking for a week, and changing the water half way through the week. Would that be useless? I cant make some MTS because of the weather here, too moist at the moment. Any suggestions are welcomed.

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-27-2012, 02:59 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)