Best type of black sand for a Cory tank - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By WVDiscGolfer

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-23-2011, 10:47 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
Best type of black sand for a Cory tank

Hey guys I'm about to start a 20g high planted cory tank. I am using eco-complete plant substrate and want to cap it with black sand. I've read about play sand, regular aquarium sand, pool filter sand, FBS, blasting abrasive, etc and I'm just looking for opinions.

Thanks,
wvdg
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-24-2011, 01:26 AM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
I don't know if it's the best, lol, but I have been using black Esetes Ceramaquartz for about 8 months now. I have happy cories and they are always foraging around-as well as happy CPO's and loaches. Seems to be pretty ground-dweller friendly. I found the supplier nearest me on this site http://www.permacolorquartz.com/pool.html
and I think it was $30 for a #50lb bag.
It sinks easily, didn't cloud my water and wasn't oily at all. It is very fine, but I never find it in my filters. The loaches love to dig in it, and the plants stay rooted. That's my experience anyway.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-24-2011, 04:13 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (5/100%)
During wc's do you stir up the sand on purpose like with gravel. or how do you prevent the backflow from the siphon from messing up the whole scape?

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 12-24-2011, 11:00 AM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (4/100%)