soil question - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-08-2011, 04:24 PM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
soil question

i just set up my 29 gallon with a soil and play sand base. i have never done this before. the only plant i am going to have in the tank is java moss. when i set up the tank i was thinking dwarf hairgrass but i haven't been able to get any. do you think it will be ok to have the soil in there even though i won't have any rooted plants?

and, i haven't put my fish or shrimps into this tank yet because i am waiting to get the java moss in the mail and also because i am nervous... haha! i have the following test kits:

ammonia
nitrites
nitrates
gh
kh
pH

if i use those kits will it tell me if the water is safe for my fish and more importantly the shrimp. i don't want any of them to die but i know that shrimp are more sensitive. i have blue tetras and amano shrimp.

i was planning to add the fish/shrimp to the 29 gallon after i put the java moss in and i was going to use some gravel from the established tank in a pantyhose sock to help seed the new tank. but, now i am worried and i am thinking i might do a fishless cycle on the 29 first. my 20 is overrun with pond snails (i will always listen to good advice given to me from more experienced people from now on!) and i am also a little worried that bringing some gravel from the other tank and putting it in the new no snail tank will be asking for trouble.

also, what is a safe depth for sand/soil. i have about 3 inches total, between 1.5-2 inches of soil in most places and between 1-1.5 inches of sand on top. is this ok or do i have to worry about anaerobic problems?

please help!

thank you
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-08-2011, 04:35 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (23/100%)