I can't get special substrate? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-20-2011, 09:32 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
I can't get special substrate?

Hi guys, total newbie here

First question, not on topic: how do I find this thread once I've posted it? :P

Second question, which is long but on topic: here in my city in Australia there is no one at all, and I mean at all, who sells any sort of substrate with magical properties like Eco-complete or that Seachem stuff. I could probably get it ordered in for me but the cost would be prohibitive.
I have a very low-tech planted tank with java moss, dwarf hairgrass, anubias, java fern and something that was sold to me as lilligrass, but looks like microsword. I have no idea what it actually is, but it's doing alright at the moment. I dose the tank daily with Flourish Excel and once a week it gets Flourish. I also give it Iron and Phosphorous when needed. I don't know how many watts per gallon, but I can tell you it's a five gallon tank and everything seems to be doing pretty alright.
I have two guppies and a betta in a tank (long story as to how I got such a dreadful mix) and three or four RCS.
I'm moving everyone to a 60 litre tank as soon as I can get a stand for it and buying more plants. However, I want them to do well - will they be fine with the somewhat large-grained gravel I have with a total lack of magical stuff, or is there some sort of clever substitute I should use?

Thanks for reading this far.
Bomba
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-20-2011, 09:39 PM
Plant Clown

PTrader: (32/100%)
To see your posts, click on the "Quick Links" tab on the blue bar at the top of the page.

If you're having trouble finding specialized substrate, you might consider going with mineralized topsoil (or something like the Miracle Gro Organic Potting Mix), capped with pool filter sand.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-20-2011, 10:35 PM