Black Diamond Medium Grit safe for Kuhli Loaches to dig in? - The Planted Tank Forum
 12Likes
  • 1 Post By Quagulator
  • 3 Post By Discusluv
  • 2 Post By Quagulator
  • 1 Post By Discusluv
  • 3 Post By Greggz
  • 1 Post By Quagulator
  • 1 Post By Greggz

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-04-2020, 11:14 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Black Diamond Medium Grit safe for Kuhli Loaches to dig in?

Hi folks, brand new to TPT.net. I have been keeping planted tanks for about 30 years, but now that we have all these forums I find that I've been doing everything wrong.

I have never used BDBS before but got a 20lb bag of Medium Grit today for my new set-up. I plan on using AquaVitro aquasolum as the substrate and capping it with the BDBS. I have used the Aquasolum for a couple of years with good results, but never capped.

I want to cap it this time for A) looks and B) to give my Kuhli Loaches a nice sandy bottom to dig and forage in. I have been keeping Kuhlis off and on for a long time (40 years) and went to sand about 20 years ago. The fish like it but it's been a struggle to keep the plants happy, since I didn't really know what I was doing. The LFS guys are anti-forum, so I just used what they suggested - inert gravel or sand and lots of fertilizers, with mixed results.

A couple years ago when the Aquasolum came out I started mixing it with my gravel / sand, and the plants liked it. But it doesn't look very natural. I recently found lots of good reviews/advice for the Black Diamond, as well as using it to cap aqua-soils for a good looking and nutritious tank. That is what I am getting ready to do this weekend - a base layer of the Aqasolum soil pellets covered with the BDBS for good looks, good foraging and good burrowing material for my loaches.