Wanting to switch from Gravel to Sand - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By DaveKS

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-01-2020, 09:34 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question Wanting to switch from Gravel to Sand

Hello, I am new to nano aquariums and currently have a 5 gallon tank with 1 betta, Plecostomus and a Corydora. I currently I have the basic rainbow gravel and I want to remove all of that and put in dirt or sand so that I can place some real plants in the tank along with some dragon stone. My question is, how can I switch the gravel with a sand/dirt without taking the fish out of the tank or if I have to take them out, where can I put them?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-02-2020, 06:02 PM
Algae Grower

Your gonna have to empty that tank first. Not sure if you gravel vac or not, but there is going to be detritus and all kinds of nasty under that gravel that will raise your ammonia levels which will be toxic to your fish. You can place your fish in a 5 gallon bucket or something similar with a circulation pump or even just a bubbler to keep the water moving. If your going to try a dirted tank I would highly recommend you search the forum for threads on how to properly prepare it. It’s a cheap and worthwhile option, but it requires effort on your part before you dump it in. If your going to keep simple plants then you can get away with just blasting or pool sand and add root tabs and dose the water column. Hope this helps
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-02-2020, 09:03 PM
Planted Tank Guru

I’d buy a storage box like this, cut out a place in lid and on side if needed to mount current filter, heater etc. then just move most water, ornaments and light/filter/heater over to new temp tank, if your filter is well established it will keep it a viable aquarium for as long as you need.