The Planted Tank Forum banner

Turning Anerobic soil to Aerobic soil

2K views 16 replies 7 participants last post by  minorhero 
#1 ·
Dirt Tank turned anaerobic:

1.5in Soil
1.1in Blasting sand
2 Mo. Cycle time
Hi, I have been cycling my tank for 2 months now,everyday I take my tweezers and poke the sand into the soil to release the gas. There is alot of gas even 2x a day throughout the entire tank. The only place there is relatively few bubles is by the rooted Jungle val, which is doing well. Almost all other plants that I plant rot the roots right off it.
Things that I tried:
Increasing the surface agitation (7-10 tank turnover/hr with powerheads) adding bubble wands and bubblers including sponge filters. Poking the sand 2x a day to release gas. Water changes 2x a week 25%.

So should I just wait it out?

This will take a while to decompose the organic material.

What do you all think?

#3 ·
All dirt tanks will have anerobic conditions in areas with no plants. It's pretty normal. It's why it is suggested only to put soil where you are going to plant.

What plants are you having trouble with and how long did you leave them undisturbed?

#4 · (Edited)
Edit: my bad reading comprehension fail.

Going back to your journal and other previous posts...

https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/12-tank-journals/1300185-heavily-soiled-20l-aquarium.html

https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/29-substrate/1299017-sand-columning.html

Things that stick out to me are.. really think it is a combination of all 3 possibilities.

1. Compost you used is way to heavily organic and you should have pre-leached it extensively as @minorhero suggested in your sand columning thread. This would have put you months ahead on tank stabilizing. As it stands with that much excess organic content your probably looking at 6-8mo before it stabilizes.