Best DSM Substrate - The Planted Tank Forum
 3Likes
Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-10-2019, 05:50 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Best DSM Substrate

Hi, im pretty new to the hobby and have been watching alot of videos on the DSM and its something that i really would like to try my hand at. Ive also been reading that alot of people use an organic soil capped with a substrate to hold it down and keep it from getting messy. My question is what are the best combos? Alot of people are saying ADA aquasoil but i cant seem to find that anywhere.any help would be much appreciated! Thanks!!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-10-2019, 06:17 AM
Algae Grower

I think the best is that the base is soil + clay from under topsoil and gravel of larger (2" pond gravel, 1/2" road kind of gravel, and pea gravel mixed in soil) and smaller sizes mixed in with the soil so when you press down on the soil it doesn't squoosh down like lake soil, but it's a choice whether you try to make something other than just a dusting of soil that will work. I cap near the top a thin layer of regular sand from lowe's, which theirs is a fine sand. I also cover my soil with gravel. It has a slightly sour taste as I just updated it, but it's not making me sick like it used to when I had a massive amount of soil in it. I have about an inch of soil/compost/clay and also I mixed sand in this time to try and keep the soil fresh, but from the size the total size is about 3 to 3 1/2 inches
Chanse27 likes this.
post #3 of 29 (permalink) Old 09-10-2019, 11:30 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntdsc View Post