New to planted tanks - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 08-20-2019, 03:18 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
New to planted tanks

Hi everyone,
This is my first time posting to a forum about this. I'm just trying to make sure I'm as informed as possible.
So I have a 150 gal tank, dimensions are 63"x22"x26" with an overflow on the left side. I recently purchased 2 xr15 lights and am unsure about substrate. Currently in this tank, I have medium grained black sand. Now I've heard mixed reviews on how sand works for planted tanks.. and I'm not sure what to think. From what I understand, I won't be able to grow carpet plants; I'll need to stick to mainly water column feeders and dose ferts, and the substrate feeders that I do get, I'll need root tabs for that I'll have to put out every 3 months or so.. is this about right? It doesn't sound like having sand will be that difficult.. or would I be better off switching it all out with some actual plant growing substrate? Looking for opinions, personal experiences, any input on this matter. This is going to be a fahaka pufferfish tank, with a couple of bigger SA cichlids living with him.
TIA
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 08-20-2019, 06:35 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon0228 View Post
Hi everyone,
This is my first time posting to a forum about this. I'm just trying to make sure I'm as informed as possible.