Changing substrate in established tank. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-01-2019, 10:35 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Changing substrate in established tank.

Hi, I'm new to planted tanks and trying everything to get my plants to thrive. My next step is to chngemy substrate to a more "plant friendly" brand. I had started this tank for my daughter with basic colored gravel. I think it's not deep enough and doesn't provide the nutrients the plants need.

If I change the substrate will that spike the Nitrates and kill the 10 fish I have in the tank?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-01-2019, 11:52 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (6/100%)
How big is the tank? What kind of fish? Just curious how big of a job we're talking about and how hardy the fish are. More than likely, you can just dump a bunch of the old gravel in mesh bags and put it back in the tank for a few weeks to seed good bacteria back into the tank.

BTW, Nitrates wouldn't be a concern but Ammonia, then Nitrites could be. Also, I'd stick to inert substrate since fish are already in there. Active substrates take a while to be fish safe. I'd get the ferts from an all in one fertilizer like Thrive. Easier to control... just my 2 cents

92% of all statistics are made up on the spot.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-01-2019, 07:53 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
+1 on the inert substrate. As mentioned, the commercial 'plant' substrates often require many water changes before they are fish safe.
With an inert substrate (I prefer sand) you merely use root tabs for rooted plants.
As for sand, I'm using pool filter sand. Others report success with big box store play sand. Stay away from very fine sands as they compress to inhibit root growth and can create unwanted anaerobic regions.

Tank On, Mike-
60g Marineland Community, Finnex Planted+ 24/7, Silica (pool filter) sand.